Section News

Section ExCom and Annual General Meeting, Edinburgh – April 2024

The 2024 spring ExCom meeting was held in the Pentland Suite, Delta Hotels by Marriott Edinburgh on 26th April with almost 30 Officers and Chairs attended in-person, meaning that it was a vibrant and stimulating meeting.

The focus was on strategic planning for the coming two years, with six main topics being discussed:

  1. Key Issues & Lessons learnt from Chapter Chair & Technical Council
  2. Strengthening relationship between Section, Society Chapters and Student Branches
  3. Young Professional Activities
  4. Strengthening Industry Engagement
  5. Strengthening Education Activities
  6. Raising Awareness of Fellows Programme

The continued refresh of the Chapter leadership resulted in the following new Chairs being ratified:

  • IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems Society: Dr. Julien Le Kernec
  • IEEE Electromagnetic Compatibility Society: Dr. Min Zhang
  • IEEE Industry Applications Society: Dr. Mohamed Dahidah
  • IEEE Signal Processing Society: Prof. Mark Plumbley
  • IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society: John Morrissey
  • IEEE Reliability and Electronics Packaging Society: Dr. Stoyan Stoyanov
  • IEEE Sensors Council: Dr. Paul Wright
  • IEEE Systems Council (interim): Dr. Farhad Fassihi
  • IEEE Nanotechnology Council: Dr. Lei Xu

The AGM was held virtually, following the ExCom meeting, to allow all members to attend.