Over 10,000 members in the UK and Ireland

420,000 worldwide

Join us today


Welcome to IEEE in the UK and Ireland

Dr Mona Ghassemian

Dear technology professionals, researchers, educators and industry practitioners,

IEEE is the world’s largest technical professional organisation present and active in 160 countries and possessing expertise in virtually all areas of electro-technology from computing and communications to power, energy, medical electronics and more through 39 technical societies & 7 councils. IEEE is also one of the leading global organisations with a portfolio of over 1,200 active standards and more than 650 standards under development as well as publishing almost 1/3rd of global technology journals.

We believe that IEEE and its future initiatives provide us with opportunities to make advancements to the society based on evolving educational and societal needs and offer IEEE services to students, researchers, educators, technology professionals and industry practitioners. Here at the UK & Ireland Section, we aim to run more quality events, lectures, workshops, conferences and exhibitions organised by IEEE Society Chapters, Women in Engineering, Special Interest Group for Humanitarian Technology (SIGHT), Life Members, Students and Young Professionals Affinity Groups in all parts of the UK & Ireland for our member benefits.

As the IEEE UK and Ireland section chair, I look forward to building on the great advances that my predecessor Professor Mike Hinchey and his predecessors have made during their terms as Chairs including Professional Development and national events. I will continue to support our newly formed SIGHT group focusing on technology for humanity and providing sustainable solutions for our community matters. Our section has proven to be a pioneer in implementing IEEE new initiatives and directions, namely Blockchain and Further Networks initiatives. I have also led the UK & Ireland cross-sectional activities and proposed to Region 8 (Europe, Africa and Middle East) to collaborate with other sections in our region through running technical/industrial forums and visits to improve member experience.

We will be building on this in 2020 and 2021, by leading the section with a vision to become an exemplary section with the support from of the Executive Committee, Section Officers, Chapter Chairs by developing the value of membership, regardless of age, area or gender.

With the host of new initiatives, I am also keen to learn about how IEEE can assist you and your sector and play a key role in your professional and career development, technology awareness and competence.

Dr Mona Ghassemian
Section Chair

Section Life

IEEE UK and Ireland Blockchain 2020 Launch Event
IEEE Annual Christmas Lecture with IEEE President Jose Moura and IET President Peter Bonfield
IEEE Milestone Plaque Unveiling – Standardisation of the Unit of Resistance
Histelcon 2019 - Milestones in Technology
IEEE Milestone Plaque Unveiling – Work of Flat Screen Innovators
previous arrownext arrow

Forthcoming Events

As a result of the current Coronavirus / COVID-19 pandemic, IEEE face-to-face events are subject to cancellation, postponement or replacement by online alternatives.

You are advised to check an event’s status before making any plans to attend.

IEEE R8 COVID-19 Advisory
Apr 06

33rd IEEE International Conference on Microelectronic Test Structures

April 6 - 9:00 am - April 9 - 5:00 pm BST
University of Edinburgh
South Hall Complex, Pollock Halls, 18 Holyrood Park Road
Edinburgh EH16 5AU
Apr 24

IEEE UK and Ireland Section AGM

April 24 - 11:00 am - 12:00 pm BST
May 14
May 15
Jun 15

Cyber Science 2020

June 15 - 9:00 am - June 17 - 5:00 pm BST
Dublin City University
Dublin 9

Recent News

Members in the News

Distinguished Visitor: IEEE Computer Society

Dr Cyril Onwubiko

Award: National Order of Merit of France

Professor Erol Gelenbe

President: IEEE Electronics Packaging Society

Professor Chris Bailey

Award: IEEE Sensors Council YP Award

Dr Hadi Heidari

Award: IEEE GRSS David Landgrebe Award

Professor Giles Foody

Prize: Best PhD Dissertation Award

Dr Giulio Giaconi

Award: US National Academy of Engineering

Professor Tariq Durrani

Award: Excellence in Continuing EMC Education

Keith Armstrong

Award: 2018 Distinguished Educator

Professor Alwyn Seeds

In Memoriam: MTT-S President

Professor Thomas J Brazil

2018 Fellows: What does it mean to them?

Professor James Wilkinson

Fellowship: Royal Society of Edinburgh

Professor Robert Henderson

Award: The Mustafa Prize

Professor Erol Gelenbe

Award: World Sustainable Development Prize

Dr Zeyad Al-Shibaany

Fellowship: Royal Academy of Engineering

Professor Mischa Dohler

previous arrow
next arrow

The Conversation

Officers of the UK and Ireland Section

Dr Mona Ghassemian
Dr Mona GhassemianSection Chair
Prof Izzet Kale
Prof Izzet KaleSection Vice-Chair
Eduardo Audiche
Eduardo AudicheInterim Secretary
Mr Matthew Gream
Mr Matthew GreamTreasurer
Prof Mike Hinchey
Prof Mike HincheyPast Chair