Control and Communication (Ireland) Joint Chapter2021-05-22T09:25:16+01:00

Control and Communication (Ireland) Joint Chapter

Welcome to the IEEE UK and Ireland Control and Communication (Ireland) Joint Chapter.

The Control and Communication (Ireland) joint Chapter was officially formed on the 15th December 2003. There are currently nearly 200 members in Ireland across both the IEEE Control Systems and IEEE Communications Societies.

Founded in 1952 with the formation of Institute of Radio Engineers (IRE) Professional Group on Communications Systems, IEEE Communications Society (Comsoc) has evolved into a diverse group of global industry professionals with a common interest in advancing all communications technologies. There are now over 8,800 members and it has become the premier international forum for the exchange of ideas on communications technologies and information networking.

Likewise, the Control Systems Society is descended from the old IRE Professional Group on Automatic Control (PGAC), whose formation was formally approved by the IRE Board of directors on the 5th October 1954. The Control Systems Society is dedicated to the advancement of research, development, and practice in automation and control systems.

The Chapter organises events and seminars across Ireland to encourage technical exchanges amongst both IEEE and non-IEEE members from both societies. It has also hosted a number of IEEE Distinguished Lecturer talks and technically co-sponsored international conferences since 2003.

Chapter Committee

  • Chair:Dr Nikolaos Athanasopoulos, Queens University Belfast
  • Past Chair:Prof Kang Li, University of Leeds
  • Past Chair:Prof Sean McLoone, NUI Maynooth
  • Committee Member:David Naughton, Xerenet Ltd. Bishopstown, Cork
  • Committee Member:Prof Maire O’Neill, Queens University, Belfast
  • Committee Member:Karen McMenemy, Queens University, Belfast
  • Committee Member:Dave Priyan,, Dublin
  • Committee Member:Eoin Kenny, HEAnet, Dublin
  • Committee Member:Ning Li, FG Wilson (Eng) Ltd, Belfast
  • Committee Member:William Scanlon, Queens University, Belfast
  • Committee Member:Luiz A. DaSilva, Trinity College, Dublin
  • Committee Member:Dr Nicola Marchetti, Trinity College, Dublin
Dr Nikolaos Athanasopoulos
Dr Nikolaos AthanasopoulosChapter Chair

Upcoming Events

Past Events

Check out the Chapter’s past events.

View past events
Go to Top