Fellowship in the Royal Society of Edinburgh Awarded to Electron Devices Society Members

The Scottish Chapter of the Electron Devices Society is proud to report that two of our membership have been awarded Fellowship in the Royal Society of Edinburgh (RSE).

Professor Robert Henderson

Professor Marc Desmulliez

Professor Robert Henderson of the University of Edinburgh and our current Chapter Chair, Professor Marc Desmulliez of Heriot-Watt University were both named among the 66 fellows newly welcomed to join Scotland’s National Academy.

As Fellows they will help the RSE to continue to provide independent and expert advice to policymakers, support aspiring entrepreneurs, develop research capacity and leadership, inspire and facilitate learning and engage with the general public through inspiring events.

The new Fellows also included former Prime Minister Gordon Brown, Professor Ying-Cheng Lai Chair of Electrical Engineering at Arizona State University, and Ian Stuart Callum Director of Design at Jaguar Cars.

Commenting on the new fellows, current President of the RSE, Professor Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell DBE, said, “Each year we welcome a selection of nominated extraordinary individuals into the Fellowship and this year is no exception. The diverse range of achievements of these individuals will be an asset to the RSE and I am sure they will strengthen the RSE’s standing as a national academy committed to providing public benefit to Scottish society”.