Section News

Nominations for Next Year’s Wohlfarth Lecture Open Now – Deadline 1st August 2019

The Wohlfarth Memorial Lecture is an annual event held to mark the significant contributions of E.P. Wohlfarth to the understanding of magnetism and magnetic materials. The lecture is traditionally presented as a plenary lecture at the principal conference on Magnetism organised by the Institute of Physics.

Magnetics Society

The lecturer will have made significant contributions to the understanding of magnetism, and be in mid-career and approaching the peak of their scientific career. Previous lecturers include Piers Coleman, Rolf Allenspach, Roy Chantrell, Dominique Givord, David Awschalom, Stephen Hayden, Tony Bland, Russell Cowburn, Wolfgang Wensdorfer, Amanda Petford-Long, Bob Stamps, Thomas Schrefl, Stuart Parkin, Caroline Ross, Matthias Bode, Stephen Blundell, Guido Meier, Chris Marrows, Steve Bramwell, Atsufumi Hirohata and Laura Heyderman. The lecturer is chosen in alternate years by the IOP Magnetism Group and the UK and Republic of Ireland IEEE Magnetism Chapter.

On behalf of the IEEE Magnetism Chapter you are invited to nominate this year’s lecturer, who will be invited to talk at the Magnetism 2020 meeting which will be held in Sheffield. Nominations should include an outline of the contributions of the nominee and their significance, and explain why the candidate would make an excellent Wohlfarth Memorial Lecturer.

The full constitution for the lecture is found at and may be of assistance in making a nomination. The UK and Ireland IEEE Magnetics Chapter Executive Committee will review the list of nominations and choose this year’s lecturer from the list.

Please e-mail your nomination to Nicola Morley ( to arrive no later than 1st August 2019.