Section News

IEEE Nanotechnology Council Chapter Formed in the UK and Ireland Section

nanotechnologyThe IEEE Nanotechnology Council (NTC) is a multi-disciplinary group whose purpose is to advance and coordinate work in the field of Nanotechnology carried out throughout the IEEE in scientific, literary and educational areas. The Council supports the theory, design, and development of nanotechnology and its scientific, engineering, and industrial applications. The IEEE Nanotechnology Council has over 30 Chapters around the world and possesses four major publications and an e-newsletter:

The petition for forming the NTC chapter in the UK & Ireland sections was initiated by Mohsen Rahmani (Chair) and Lei Xu (Vice-chair) on 29 March and obtained a sufficient number of signatures in less than an hour. Shortly after that, Faezeh Arab Hassani (Treasurer) and  Lee Crudgington (secretary) joined the executive committee to start the activities. IEEE formally approved the formation of the chapter on 18 May 2021.

The chapter is keen to build its membership and encourages all interested members to get in touch.  News and events will be posted on the chapter’s webpage.

Below is a short biography of each committee member.

Chair: Mohsen Rahmani, Nottingham Trent University

Professor Mohsen Rahmani is the Leader of the Advanced Optics & Photonics Lab at Nottingham Trent University. He is a Royal Society Wolfson Fellow and a UK Research and Innovation (UKRI) Future Leaders Fellow. His research activities span over light-matter interactions with various nanomaterials, e.g. metallic, dielectric and semiconductor nanoparticles, in both linear and nonlinear regimes for flat optics, near-infrared imaging and bio-sensing.

He obtained his PhD from the National University of Singapore in 2013. He has published more than 60 peer-reviewed journal papers and numerous conference proceedings, with over 3.5k citations (H-index=33). He is the recipient of several prestigious awards and prizes, including the Eureka Prize, Early Career Medal from the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, and the Australian Optical Society Geoff Opat Award.

Before moving to the UK, Rahmani served as the chair of IEEE Photonics Chapter (2017-2019) and IEEE Nanotechnology Chapter (2020) in the Australian Capital Territory section.

Vice-Chair: Lei Xu, Nottingham Trent University

Dr Lei Xu is a Senior Lecturer in Electrical Engineering at the Department of Engineering in the School of Science & Technology, Nottingham Trent University.

Dr. Lei Xu obtained his PhD (2014) in Optics from Nankai University, China. Since then, he has been performing research and engineering activities in different universities: Nankai University, The Australian National University, and the University of New South Wales. His research interests are nanophotonics, optoelectronics meta-devices, low carbon technologies (i.e. solar energy harvesting, as well as innovative radiative cooling for energy saving), and bio-photonics (i.e. tissue engineering via light, and wearable optical sensors).

Treasurer: Faezeh Arab Hassani, University of Bristol

Dr Faezeh Arab Hassani (BSc, MSc, PhD, SMIEEE) received PhD degree in Electronics Engineering from the University of Southampton, United Kingdom, in 2012. Dr. Hassani then joined Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (JAIST), Japan, for her Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS) post-doctoral fellowship (2012-2013). She continued her research career at the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE), National University of Singapore (NUS) (2013-2014), University of Sheffield, United Kingdom (2014-2016), and the N.1 Institute of Health (former Singapore Institute for Neurotechnology), NUS (2016-2019).

Dr Hassani received a JSPS invitational fellowship to conduct research at the University of Tokyo, Japan (2019-2020). She joined the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, the University of Bristol as a lecturer in 2020. Her research interests include micro/nano-electronics, micro/nano-electromechanical-systems (MEMS/NEMS) hybrid devices, sensors, actuators, and energy harvesters for healthcare and environmental applications.

Secretary: Lee Crudgington