Section News

Future Networks Local Group Co-chair Wins 2021 Microwave Prize

Professor Anding Zhu, CONNECT Principal Investigator at UCD and co-chair of IEEE UK and Ireland Future Networks Local Group, has received the 2021 Microwave Prize from IEEE’s  Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (IEEE MTT-S).

The winning paper, “Full-Angle Digital Predistortion of 5G Millimeter-Wave Massive MIMO Transmitters”, was co-authored with Chao Yu, Jianxin Jing, Han Shao, Zhi Hao Jiang, Pinpin Yan, Xiao-Wei Zhu and Wei Hong.

The Microwave Prize Recognises, on an annual basis, the most significant contribution by a published paper to the field of interest of the MTT-S. The Microwave Prize is the Society’s oldest award.

Professor Zhu received the PhD degree in electronic engineering from University College Dublin (UCD) in 2004. He has been working in UCD since 2005, first as a Post-Doc, then as a Lecturer, an Associate Professor and now as Professor in the School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering.

The UK and Ireland Section sends its congratulations to Professor Zhu for winning this prestigious prize.