Loading Events

IEEE UK & Ireland Section Annual Christmas Lecture |  Story-telling in the History of Computing by Dr Doron Swade

As the IEEE UK and Ireland section chair and on behalf of the section ExCom, I would like to invite you to join our section traditional Christmas event 2021 on 9th of Dec (13:30-15:00) at the iconic Regent street Cinema.

The Regent Street Cinema has been the home for our section Xmas events: The past events records are listed at 2020 (virtual), 2019, 2018, and 2017 that is an independent British Cinema located on Regent Street, London.

This year we have the honour to have Dr Doron Swade giving us a lecture on “Story-telling in the history of computing”.

Doron Swade is an engineer, historian, and museum professional. He was Curator of Computing for many years at the Science Museum, London, and later Assistant Director & Head of Collections. He is a leading authority of the life and work of Charles Babbage and is responsible for the successful construction of Charles Babbage’s Difference Engine No. 2 built to original nineteenth-century designs.

He is an Honorary Fellow of the British Computer Society, and of Royal Holloway University of London. He was awarded an MBE in 2009 for services to the history of computing.

We understand the concerns of members travelling during the pandemic and this will be a hybrid event.  For the physical event we follow government and IEEE policies and expect and appreciate all participants to follow the regulations when attending the event.

Mona Ghassemian
Section Chair

Agenda (subject to change)

13:00: Welcome and introduction (Dr Mona Ghassemian, Section Chair)

13:35:  Welcome – University of Westminster Vice Chancellor

13:40: IEEE Representative (TBC)

13:45: IEEE Region 8 Representative  (TBC)

13:49: Christmas Lecture Introduction intro (Prof Mike Hinchey, Past Section Chair)

13:50: Christmas Lecture – “Story-telling in the History of Computing” by Dr Doron Swade

14:35: Section Highlights & Awards (Dr Mona Ghassemian & colleagues)

14:50: 2022-2024 Vice Chair Election Results & 2022 Section OpCom Handover  (Prof Izzt Kale, Section Chair 2022-2024)

14:55: Group photo

15:00-16:00: Social Event

Registration open soon

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Go to Top