Loading Events

Joint NTU Department of Engineering and IEEE UK & Ireland Nanotechnology Chapter Distinguished Lecture by Prof Chennupati Jagadish, President of the Australian Academy of Science

During this Distinguished Lecture Professor Chennupati Jagadish will be giving a talk on Semiconductor Nanostructures for Optoelectronics and Energy Applications.


Semiconductors have played an important role in the development of information and communications technology, solar cells, solid state lighting. Nanowires are considered as building blocks for the next generation electronics and optoelectronics.

This talk will present the results on growth of nanowires, nanomembranes and microrings and their optical properties. It will also discuss theoretical design and experimental results on optoelectronic devices, focussing in particular on nanowire and micro-ring lasers and integration of nanowires and microrings.

The results on polarisation sensitive, broad bandwidth THz detectors operating at room temperature will be presented and nanowire based energy devices such as solar cells and photoelectrochemical (PEC) water splitting will be discussed.

The presentation will conclude with the future prospects of the semiconductor nanostructures.

About the Speaker

Professor Jagadish is the President of the Australian Academy of Science and a Distinguished Professor and Head of Semiconductor Optoelectronics and Nanotechnology Group in the Research School of Physics at the Australian National University. He is a Fellow of 13 Science and Engineering Academies of Australia, US, UK, India, China, Europe and Developing World-TWAS.

Professor Jagadish has received many awards including Australia’s highest civilian honour, AC, Companion of the Order of Australia, for his contributions to physics and engineering, in particular nanotechnology. He has received 2023 Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award, highest award given to overseas Indians from the President of India.

He has in the past served as President of IEEE Photonics Society, IEEE Nanotechnology Council and Australian Materials Research Society.

Go to Top