Section News

EMC Society | Nominations Sought for Positions of Director-at-Large

Electromagnetic Compatibility SocietyThe EMC Society, like all Societies and Councils within the IEEE, is dependent on the dedication and energy of its volunteer leadership to determine its strategic direction and manage its operations. We are now seeking nominations for six Directors-at-Large to join the Board of Directors and contribute to building the EMC Society of the future.

The Board of Directors oversees technical activities, conferences, standards, membership, education, publications, etc. and is, itself, dependent on a large number of volunteers around the world.

The EMC Society is in a strong position with many initiatives underlining its place as the home of EMC and, of course, Signal Integrity and Power Integrity Engineers.

Each year, in the annual ballot, we look to welcome six new Directors-at-Large for a three year term of office.  We are particularly keen to encourage anyone to consider applying to be on that ballot of our members who has taken a Society leadership role in, for example, technical activities, Chapter activities, standardisation, Conference organisation, publications, etc.  If you know of someone who is suitably qualified, please bring this to their attention.

The form available here provides the detail of what is needed to be submitted.

We are always looking for ways to ensure that the Board is representative of the Society membership as a whole and of broader potential Society membership.

In all cases, please look out for the notification about the ballot in a few months time and take a few minutes to read the information about each candidate and cast your votes.  It is through the collective decision making of our membership that we can ensure that the Board represents the many facets of the Society membership and has the experience, expertise and ideas that continue to build a stronger IEEE EMC Society.

If you would like to discuss this any further, please contact Alistair Duffy, Chair of the Nominations and Appointments Committee at