Elevation to Fellows for 2017

IEEE Fellow is a distinction reserved for select IEEE members whose extraordinary accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest are deemed fitting of this prestigious grade elevation.

The UK and Ireland Section sends its congratulations to the following members who have achieved IEEE Fellow status for 2017.

Alan Smeaton
Dublin City University
alan.smeaton@dcu.ie
For contributions to multimedia information indexing and retrieval
Alexandre Yakovlev
University of Newcastle Upon Tyne
alex.yakovlev@ncl.ac.uk
For contributions to theory and design of asynchronous circuits
Arumugam Nallanathan
Kings College London
nallanathan@ieee.org
For contributions to cooperative communications and cognitive radio networks
Cheng-xiang Wang
Heriot-Watt University
chxwang@hotmail.com
For contributions to wireless channel modelling for vehicular networks
Jiangzhou Wang
University of Kent
j.z.wang@kent.ac.uk
For contributions to multiple access and resource allocation in wireless mobile communications
Petronel Bigioi
FotoNation
petronel.bigioi@gmail.com
For leadership in advancing digital imaging technology for handheld consumer devices
Pier Luigi Dragotti
Imperial College London
p.dragotti@imperial.ac.uk
For contributions to sparse signal representation and sampling theory
Seb Savory
Cambridge University
sjs1001@cam.ac.uk
For contributions to digital coherent transceivers for optical fibre communication
Yannis Stylianou
Toshiba Research Europe Ltd
yannis@csd.uoc.gr
For contributions to speech analysis and communication

 

2016-12-28T15:49:56+00:00 November 24th, 2016|Fellows, news|